Confidence

While I am not entirely new to blogging (I blogged about my knee reconstruction and recovery in 2009), I am new to blogging as an educator.  I have been inspired by some of my colleagues and their insights on using techn0logy in the classroom, administration, testing, assessment and a litany of other hot topics in education right now.  Those of you who know me will be surprised (wink, wink) to hear that I also have some opinions of my own. 

There are a lot of things in education that I don’t know enough about.   One of my goals for blogging and using Twitter will be to continually educate myself through the biggest PLC I could imagine.  I welcome your thoughts, ideas, and even your constructive criticisms.  Another of my goals is to build my CONFIDENCE as a tech user.  I have been overwhelmed over the last few years with trying to stay caught up with technology and all of the ways I can use to assist me in both teaching and learning.  Truthfully, I haven’t done an adequate job of learning or using it (ew…my outcome based report card would read “Marci has a minimal ability to integrate new technology into her classroom.”).

“Confidence is contagious.  So is a lack of confidence” – Vince Lombardi.  I have two main ideas that I try to stress for my students on the first day of school and then throughout the whole year: 1. BE CONFIDENT  and  2. WORRY ABOUT THINGS YOU CAN CONTROL.  Well, confidence, for the most part, doesn’t just come without some work.  Especially to middle years students.  I like to think that I help them to become confident learners, athletes and people.  It doesn’t always work though…on Monday I had a student hand in a completely blank final exam.  I failed that kid somehow.  He is definitely NOT confident.  “Worry about things you can control” is more about eliminating excuse making.  I try to help kids see that whatever their obstacles are, that they can control how they overcome them.  You will probably be reading a lot on those topics as I blog about the successes and failures I endure with my grade 8 and 9 students for the 2011-2012 school year.

As I close out another year at Stony Plain Central School, I am excited about doing some actual learning this summer and coming back with more to offer my classes than what I have right now.  Oh ya, I’m also excited about the lake, the sun, the sleep, hanging out with my boys and did I mention SLEEP?

4 thoughts on “Confidence

  1. Congratulations on your first educational blog post, Marci! I agree with your comments about confidence and how tough it is to build this among our middle years students. You are setting an excellent example for them by taking the risk to move out of your comfort zone in the area of technology – and by showing them that it’s okay not to get it right the first time…but that learning from mistakes is how we do our best learning. Have a great summer!!!

  2. I feel you Marci.
    When George started talking about blogfolios for our students, I realized that if I didn’t learn how to work this technology stuff, I was going to become the dinosaur on staff!
    This is a great first post! I know that confidence is contagious because the confidence we built as a school team this year is unparalllled. Why? Because a huge portion of our school was confident and clear in their blogging intent!
    You know what this means, right? You are a school leader at SPC and you will spread tech confidence and your passion for bettering yourself as a teacher will rub off! YOU GO!!!

  3. Hi, Marci. Good to see you blogging and posting in Twitterland. I enjoyed reading your post and look forward to learning with you. I have appreciated the support I feel in sharing my trials and tribulations as an educator. And the more PSDers we can get working together and sharing, the better! If you’re interested, my blog is katherinecmann.wordpress.com.

  4. Thanks for the encouragement, ladies. I am feeling a lot of excitement about blogging and using some of the new tools I will learn in my classroom. Right now I am feeling a rush from everything I am seeing and reading. You know…”wow, I could use that for The Outsiders” “THIS is something my students would love to do” “How much time will it take me to learn this new technology so I can use it in my class?”

    I am already finding I need to tone it down a bit! My focus will be to try one or two new things per term with my students. If it goes well, I may be able to try more than that but to start, I’m going to go with “less is more.”

    Thanks again for your encouragement. Sorry it took me so long to post them. I had to figure out how to “approve” them. I’m learning 🙂

Leave a Reply

