“Puke on a Page”

Creativity by Alun Salt
Creativity, a photo by Alun Salt on Flickr.

I have read about it, heard about it, thought about it, scoffed at it and thought “it won’t happen to me.”

And yet here I am, in the middle of it.

Writer’s Block.

I currently have four drafts sitting in my “posts”. None of them are good. None of them are finished. None of them feel right.

So, tonight I decided that I would take my own advice. Often when I have students who are struggling for a topic, I tell them to write about how they don’t know what to write about. I say, “Put down all of your ideas. Anything that comes into your head, even if it doesn’t make sense. Puke on a page – get it all out.”

I know, it’s gross. It allows them a little giggle and then they can get to writing down some of the ideas that they think don’t work.

I have started posts about:

1. The effects of successful athletic teams on the culture of a school, community or country.

2. A fun game called Kaboom Ball that is a staple at Stony Plain Central School

3. The difficulty schools have in getting coaches for athletic teams and the fact that it always seems like the same people doing the wide majority of the extracurricular activities.

4. The interesting work my grade 8 homeroom is doing while they plan a Renaissance Faire.

5. Tonight I participated in an #edchat discussion about teacher Professional Development that made me think about possible ways that I could provide more meaningful PD for my colleagues.

So there’s my “puke on a page”.

I promise never to scoff at Writer’s Block again.

4 thoughts on ““Puke on a Page”

  1. Absolutely love this Marci. I too often suffer from the block. Or the opposite, and perhaps worse, I get too wordy! Thanks for sharing about a common experience and writing from “your guts” so to speak. 🙂 I truly enjoyed it!

    • Thanks Carlene! It sounds like we have very similar writing styles. Truthfully, there are not too many times when I am at a loss for words so it is a bit unnerving for me. Thanks for the feedback on my site too. I should go to bed but I am probably going to spend some time tweaking it a bit. 🙂

    • Kaboom ball is a great game we play in our “multi-purpose” room. It is quite simply hockey played with pool noodles and a beach ball. The sound of the noodle on the ball makes a great KABOOM sound. Students from elementary to grade 9 absolutely love this game”

Leave a Reply

